Purslane in the Garden

During our Neighborhood Summerfest yesterday evening, I took a few minutes to wander through the garden and pull some weeds.  I had just pulled some volunteer purslane (see inset photo) and had straightened up to look for my next victim, when a neighbor stopped me:

“Are you pulling weeds?”

Purslane

Purslane

“Yes.”

“But that’s purslane. My family eats that. If you leave it, we will come and harvest it.”

“Marvelous!”

My initial reaction was to be happy that one of our neighbors had motivation to pull what I was still thinking of as a weed from our garden. But once I was home, after the party was over, I got to wondering about how one went about eating purslane, ’cause there’s plenty to go around!

A quick survey of the web brought up the following recipes:

Purslane and Basil Pesto

Purslane and Basil Pesto

Purslane and Basil Pesto

 


Shirazi Style Purslane Salad

 

Pickled Purslane (try saying that 5 times fast!)

and

Stir-Fried Purslane, Chinese Style

So, the next time you pull out some Purslane, you might not want to throw it away!

2 comments on “Purslane in the Garden

  1. Haha! I know it’s a weed in Indiana, but here in Georgia we purchase it at the garden store.
    http://unexpectedincommonhours.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/one-persons-weed/

  2. amymccreath says:

    Indeed! Our Episcopal Church also hosts a Haitian Baptist congregation. They taught us about purslane, which we had been weeding out of our community garden plot! Just blogged about it. Peace & happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

